Wildrose announces its legislative lineup

Wildrose leader Danielle Smith beat Premier Alison Redford to the punch revealing her shadow cabinet for the new legislative sitting. Every Wildrose MLA has been assigned a shadow post.

Smith will follow the Ministry of International Intergovernmental and Aboriginal Relations and cities. Other significant ministries will be covered by MLAs from a range of backgrounds though most are from rural areas.

Former Global TV anchor Bruce McAllister will shadow Education. McAllister beat incumbent Tory energy minister Ted Morton. Jason Hale who runs a cattle ranch and is an oil and gas industry consultant has the Energy portfolio.

Bruce Rowe former Beisecker mayor and vice-president of the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association for Villages is assigned to watch over Municipal Affairs.

Turkey farmer Kerry Towle is the new party whip and shadows the Ministry of Seniors.

Incumbent Wildrose MLA Rob Anderson has been named house leader and will also be overseeing the Ministry of Finance and the Treasury Board. The remaining shadow cabinet posts are: Joe Anglin Environment; Drew Barnes Infrastructure and Transportation; Gary Bikman Advanced Education; Ian Donovan Agriculture and Rural Development; Heather Forsyth of Calgary-Fish Creek Health; Rod Fox Service Alberta; Blake Pedersen Culture and Community Services; Shayne Saskiw Justice deputy house leader solicitor general; Pat Stier Sustainable Resource Development; Rick Strankman Parks and Recreation; and Calgary-Shaw MLA Jeff Wilson Human Services.