Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats, Sharon Van Etten, Sheila E among first acts announced for Calgary folk fest

Wow, that’s an impressive and mighty, um, leak.

Perhaps ramping up the excitement for the 40th anniversary event, the Calgary Folk Music Festival has begun its tradition of slowly revealing some of the artists for its upcoming summer event by dropping five stellar acts that will be gracing the Prince’s Island stages come July 25 – 28.

Those acts are: soulful Americana R&B act Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats; enchanting and beautifully moody alt-folk siren Sharon Van Etten; famed percussionist, actress and Prince protege Sheila E; Grammy-winning country veterans Asleep At the Wheel; and Brooklyn-born indie poppers Lucius, who are led by matching frontwomen Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig.

Also notable is that to coincide with the announcement, there will be a 48-hour flash sale of festival passes starting at 10 a.m. on Monday, March 11.

For more information and passes go to calgaryfolkfest.com.